in Gaming

CS:GO FACEIT Major London 2018 Starts on September 5

FACEIT Major London 2018 is a major Counter Strike Global Offensive Tournament, sponsored by Valve. While it is the 13th tournament hosted by the company, it is only the second major event of 2018. A total of 24 teams compete for a massive prize pool of $1 million and it starts on September 5.

This is the first CS:GO Major held by FACEIT and it will present the four most successful players with a seated place at the IEM Katowice Major 2019. The top eight players will receive direct invitations to the “New Legends Stage” at the next Major Championship. Cash prizes will be awarded to all players who finish inside top 16, but the ones between 9 and 14 are also invited to the “New Challengers Stage”.

CS:GO FACEIT Major London 2018 Format

The “New Challengers Stage” starts on September 5 and concludes at the end of the week on September 9. It uses a Swiss system format and the first four rounds will be decided at the end of the best of one series. This means that the teams have just one chance to showcase their skills and outshine opponents. From Round 5 onward, the series are expanded to best-of-three, to mitigate the role luck plays in deciding the winners. The seeds are determined using the Buchholz system, but only from Rounds 3 to 5.

At the end of the first stage of the CS:GO FACEIT Major London 2018 the top eight teams will advance to the “The New Legends Stage” while the bottom eight are eliminated. This is the second phase of the competition, it starts on September 12 and concludes four days later on September 16. The same rules apply during The New Legends Stage and the New Challengers Stage. The final act of the CS:GO FACEIT Major London 2018 starts on September 20 and it is called “The New Champions Stage”.

Check out our top 3 bonus offers for your CS:GO bets

Rank Operator Max. Bonus To the Operator
200% on deposit
100% on deposit
100% on deposit
Esports Bonus Comparison

Prize Distribution at the CS:GO FACEIT Major London 2018

The bottom eight teams of those who made top 16 will be awarded prizes of $8750. As stated above, only those who finish above the 14th place will also receive invitations to the “New Challengers Stage”. The best Counter Strike Global Offensive players will proceed to the final act of the tournament which concludes on September 23. The Buchholz system is used to seed players in the quarterfinals and all the games are played in a best-of-three format, including the grand final.

$35,000 of the guaranteed prize pool of $1 million will be awarded to the teams who finish in the 5th-8th places. There will be no match to decide the team in the third-place, so two squads will share the last place on the podium. They will collect $70,000 and just like their counterparts eliminated in the quarterfinals will receive an invitation to the “New Legends Stage” at the IEM Katowice Major 2019. The winners will receive $500,000, while the runners up will be awarded $150,000.