in Gaming

Dota Pro Circuit Major: All qualified teams prepare to win in Stockholm

Dota Pro Circuit is heading to Stockholm, the capital city of Sweden this year to run its first 2021-2022 season Major tournament, the ESL One Stockholm 2022 from May 12 to 22.

Technically, so to speak, ESL One is the second DPC Major this season after the cancellation of the Winter Tour Major following COVID-19 restrictions and countries’ travel concerns. Despite a few little format changes due to travel issues from the Chinese teams, this year’s ESL One is going offline.

Moreover, the tournament features a total of 14 teams from five out of six regions seeded in the Major competition. From Europe, America, and Asia each best-performing regional team is competing for a $500,000 prize pool in Stockholm.

China out in Stockholm Major

As mentioned previously, Stockholm Major will have five out of its six intended regions. One region, in particular, is China confirmed will to fly to Sweden.

Instead, Chinese teams, as confirmed by Valve’s Chinese counterpart and tournament organizer Perfect World will conclude the Regional Finals with a set of isolated games from May 6 to 8.

The entire format of the DPC tour has witnessed a total of two format changes, despite it being not much. Changes were made to accommodate things that are mostly happening in China as the government responded to the entire COVID-19 situation.

One of the top-performing Chinese DOTA 2 teams, PSG.LGD confirmed in late April its entire roster was in the middle of quarantine in their homes due to the strict COVID-19 regulations. The government also does not allow visa application process in the middle of the pandemic. Thus, PSG.LGD along with the other three Chinese teams were unable to fly to Sweden to compete.

This has prompted both organizers, Valve and Perfect World to pivot to a more lenient DPC tour format as China has been allocated the biggest team of four alongside Western Europe.

For DOTA 2 esports enthusiasts, this only means one thing, having the DPC tour Major in Stockholm with only five regions instead of six and 14 teams rather than the intended 18 to compete at prestigious international esports LAN settings, something that even professional players are longing for the past two years.

All teams to compete in Stockholm Major, regional allocation

Missing China means the DPC tour Major will also have a few less powerful contenders such as PSG.LGD, Xtreme Gaming, and Team Aster. The three are some of the best teams as they have been seeded to Major based on the regional standings in China.

Starting from Western Europe, the region will send OG, Gaimin Gladiators, Team Liquid, and Tundra Esports. The regions had received the most numbers of team allocation for the DPC tour major alongside China.

Trailing behind Western Europe based on the number of teams allocated are Southeast Asia and Eastern Europe, as both regions are slated to send three teams. The hype team of Fnatic, BOOM Esports, and T1 will represent SEA, while BetBoom Team, Team Spirit alongside Mind Games are on behalf of Eastern Europe.

The remaining two regions are North America and South America with the least team allocation of two teams. NA will have Evil Geniuses and TSM. Meanwhile on behalf of SA are Thunder Awaken and beastcoast.