in Gaming

Krafton announces details of BGIS scrims event

Krafton has announced the details for the upcoming BGIS Scrims The Grind 2021, the prelude to the Battlegrounds Mobile India Series, the first official open BGMI tournament.

The announcement was made during the first episode of BGMI Iqoo Esports channel’s Chai Time. The chat show was attended by BGMI influencers GHATAK, Thug, and Ocean Sharma. The first episode discussed the BGIS 2021 event in depth, hosted by Mazy, a popular BGMI caster.

Schedule, prize pool, and format

BGIS Scrims The Grind 2021 is a two-week round-robin style event in which the 32 teams split into four groups. The teams compete for a total of eight days in the two weeks with Week 1 taking place from December 2 to 5 and Week 2 from December 9 to 12 after a hiatus of several months.

In addition to the announcement of the scrims event, Krafton also revealed the schedule for the three rounds of the BGIS Online Qualifiers. In round one, 1024 teams will compete in two games, with 512 teams qualifying. The 512 teams will then compete in Round 2, with 224 teams qualifying in which each team will also compete in two games.

Then, despite only 224 teams will qualify from Round 2, there will be 256 teams competing in Round 3, with 32 teams being invitees. The teams will play three matches in this round with 64 teams qualifying for the Quarter Finals to compete for a total prize pool of around $13.3 million.

The teams invited

It was revealed that a total number of 32 teams was invited to the scrims event will serve as a practice session for the teams before the major event, including Marcos Gaming, Nigma Galaxy, Orangutan, Velocity Gaming, GodLike Esports, Team X Spark, 7Sea Esports, Revenant Esports, Team Mayhem, and Skylightz Gaming.

Top 3 teams to look out for

1. GodLike Esports

An oppressive powerhouse in BGMI, the team has won almost all BGMI tournaments they participated in including LOCO War of Glory: Grand Finals, Ranbhoomi Season 1, and Skyesports Championship 3.0.

The team announced their new lineup three months ago and now it comprises IGL Vivek “ClutchGod” Horo, Scout/Assaulter “Jonathan” Jude Amaral, Support Abhishek “ZGod” Choudhary, and Entry Fragger Suraj “Neyoo” Majumdar.

2. Team X Spark

The lineup of the team was announced by Scout a few days before the tournament. The team’s roster was formed after Mavi and Scout left Team Soul. The new team is one of the most anticipated teams in the tournament due to the potential balance of offense and defense. The team comprises IGL Harmandeep “Mavi” Singh, Scout/Assaulter Tanmay “Sc0ut” Singh, Assaulter Arshpreet “Gill” Singh, and Support Hemanth “Ultron” Sethi.

3. Velocity Gaming

Velocity gaming was the latest team to announce its lineup for the tournament. However, its roster is one of the most consistent in the game as they were all members of team India. The team comprises IGL Samir “Kratos” Choubey, Assaulter Raj “Snax” Varma, Sniper Daljit “Daljitsk” Singh, and Assaulter Randeep “Attanki” Singh.